Parks Commission

Contact the Parks Commission

The Board of Parks Commissioners is made up of five residents, each appointed for 3-year terms by the Town Administrator and one of whom is the designee of the School Committee.

Powers & Duties
The Parks Commission may lay out and improve public parks, make rules for their use and government. Subject to appropriation, they shall have the power to conduct park programs and recreation program activities at places other than such public parks.

Town meeting of March 27, 1893, under Article 15, accepted MGL Chapter 45, Section 2 which allows a town to elect a Board of Parks Commissioners, consisting of three members. Chapter 23 of the Acts of 1995 changed the Commission from elected to appointed. At the May 18, 1998 town meeting, under Article 24, the Board was expanded from three to five members.

Steven Blake


David Castagnetti


Gary Flynn


Jeffrey Legendre


James Pedone


School Designee