MOTOR VEHICLE EXCISE ABATEMENT APPLICATION

General Laws Chapter 60A

RETURN APPLICATION FORM AND DOCUMENTATION TO: West Boylston Board of Assessors

INSTRUCTIONS. To apply for an abatement (or refund if
excise has been paid), complete this form and provide the
specified documentation.

Abatement applications must be received by the assessors
within three years after the excise was due, or one year after the
excise was paid, whichever is later. To preserve your right to
appeal, you must file on time. By law, assessors may only act
on late applications on limited circumstances where the excise
is still unpaid and their decision in those cases is final.

FILING AN APPLICATION DOES NOT STAY THE
COLLECTION ON TAXES. To avoid interest, charges and
collection action, including non-renewal of your registration,
you must pay the bill in full within 30 days of its issue date.
You will receive a refund if an abatement is granted.

NOTE: You are not entitled to an abatement if you (1) cancel
your registration and retain ownership of the vehicle, or (2)
move to another Massachusetts city or town, during the calendar
year. No excise may be reduced to less than $5.00. No
abatement or refund of less than $5.00 may be made.

Return this completed form to:
West Boylston Board of Assessors
140 Worcester Street
West Boylston, MA 01583-1145
774-261-4040

Year Bill #

Valuation Months Assessed
Excise Assessed $

Abatement Allowed $

Adjusted Excise $

Cert.# Date: / /
Assessor

Assessor

Assessor

Form Approved by Commissioner of Revenue

(STF 126-MVE)(12/2004)

BILL INFORMATION:
Tax Year Tax Date / Issue Date / / Bill Number
Plate/Registration Number VIN Vehicle Year Make & Model
Name (as shown on bill)
Address (as shown on bill)

City/Town State Zip
Mailing Address (if different)

City/Town State Zip

REASON YOU ARE APPLYING FOR AN ABATEMENT:

Check where applicable YOU MUST PROVIDE THIS DOCUMENTATION

o Vehicle was sold or traded

(1) Bill of sale AND (2) Either a plate return receipt from the RMV or a new

registration form if the plate was transferred to another vehicle

o Vehicle was a total loss

ey

Insurance settlement letter AND (2) Either a plate return receipt or a new
registration form

o Vehicle was repossessed

ey

Notice from the lienholder AND (2) Either a plate return receipt or a new
registration form
ey

o Vehicle was junked Receipt from junk yard AND (2) Either a plate return receipt or a new

registration

o  Vehicle returned (Lemon Law)

ey

Letter from the dealer certifying return AND (2) Either a plate return
receipt or a new registration

o Move from West Boylston (1) Date of move: / /
before January 1 of tax year Proof of residency before January 1 of tax year of bill (e.g., utility
bill, voter registration, lease)
NOTE: You must notify the RMV of your change of address
o Moved out of state (1) Registration from new state or country AND (2) the Massachusetts plate

return receipt
o Exemption

ey
ey

Type: Documentation establishing qualification

o Valuation error Letter from the RMV stating that they made a mistake in your valuation.
The telephone number designated for valuation errors is 1-857-368-8180

Subscribed under the penalties of perjury
Signature
Telephone:

Date
I have paid this excise tax bill: Yes

No




