INTRODUCTION

The agricultural and horticultural land
classification program under Massachusetts
General Laws Chapter 61A is designed to
encourage the preservation of the
Commonwealth’s valuable farmland and
promote active agricultural and horticultural
land use. It offers significant local tax benefits to
property owners willing to make a long term
commitment to farming. In exchange for these
benefits, the city or town in which the land is
located is given the right to recover some of the
tax benefits afforded the owner and an option to
purchase the property should the land be sold or
used for any purpose other than to continue
raising farm products.

QUALIFICATIONS

Property must consist of at least 5 contiguous
acres of land under the same ownership and be
“actively devoted” to agricultural or horticultural
use in order to qualify for and retain
classification as agricultural or horticultural land
under Chapter 61A. An equal amount of
contiguous non-productive land may also qualify
for classification

Land is used for agricultural or horticultural
purposes if it is used primarily and directly to
raise or grow the following for sale in the regular
course of business:

1. Animals, including, but not limited to, dairy
cattle, beef cattle, poultry, sheep, swine,
horses, ponies, mules, goats, bees and fur-
bearing animals, or products derived from the
animals.

2. Fruits, vegetables, berries, nuts and other
foods for human consumption, feed for
animals, tobacco, flowers, sod, trees, nursery
or greenhouse products.
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3. Forest products under a forest management
plan approved by the State Forester.

Land is also used for agricultural and
horticultural purposes if it used primarily and
directly in a manner related to the production of
the animals or crops and that use is necessary
and incidental to the actual production or
preparation of the animals or crops for market.

For the land to be considered “actively devoted”
to a farm use, it must have been farmed for the
two fiscal years prior to the year of classification
and must have produced a certain amount of
sales. The minimum gross sales requirement is
$500 for the first 5 acres or productive land. That
amount is increased by $5 for each additional
acre of productive land being classified, unless
the additional acreage is woodland or wetland. In
that case, the amount is increased by only $.50 for
each additional acre.

The minimum gross sales requirement for land
being used to cultivate or raise a farm product
that takes more than one season to produce its
firs harvest is satisfied if the land is being used in
a manner intended to produce those sales within
the product development period set by the
Farmland Valuation Advisory Commission for

the particular crop or animal. (The Farmland
Valuation Advisory Commission is a state board made up of
a representative from the Department of Food and
Agriculture, Department of Revenue, University of

Massachusetts College of Food and Natural Resources,
Executive Office of Communities and Development and a
local board of assessors.)

Buildings and other structures located on the
land, as well as the land on which a residence is
located or regularly used for residential
purposes, do not qualify for classification and
will continue to be assessed a regular local
property tax.
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APPLICATIONS

For property to be classified as agricultural or
horticultural land under Chapter 61A, the
property owner must submit a written
application to the board of assessors of the city or
town in which the land is located by October 1 of
the year before the start of the fiscal year for
which taxation as classified land is sought. (The
fiscal year of cities and towns begins July 1 and ends the
following June 30.) If the city or town is undergoing
a revaluation for that fiscal year, the application
deadline is extended until 30 days after the date
the year’s tax bills with the new values are
mailed.

The assessors must approve or disapprove the
application for classification within 3 months of
the filing date. If they do not act within that time,
the application is considered approved. The
assessors must notify the owner by certified mail
whether the application has been approved or
disapproved within 10 days of their decision.
Classification and taxation of the land as
agricultural or horticultural land under Chapter
61A will begin on the following July 1, which is
the start of the next fiscal year.

The owner must file a separate application by
October 1 (or extended deadline if applicable)
each year for classification of the land to continue
into the next fiscal year. The land cannot be
classified as agricultural or horticultural land for
a fiscal year if the owner does not comply with all
application deadlines and procedures.

LIEN

Once an initial application is approved, the
assessors record a statement at the Registry of



Deeds indicating that the land has been classified
as agricultural or horticultural land under
Chapter 61A. That statement
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will constitute a lien on the land for all taxes due
under Chapter 61A. The owner must pay all fees
charged by the Registry for recording or releasing
the lien.

ANNUAL TAXATION

Under Chapter 61A, the owner still pays an
annual property tax to the city or town in which
the classified land is located. However, the tax is
based on the commercial tax rate for the fiscal
year applied to the value of the land for
agricultural or horticultural purposes, rather than
its fair market value as would be the case if the
land were not classified. The value of the land for
agricultural or horticultural purposes is
determined by the assessors based on the range
of values published annually by the Farmland
Valuation Advisory Commission, as well as their
own appraisal knowledge, judgment and
experience.

The property tax is due in the same number of
installments and at the same time as other local
property tax payments in the city or town.
Interest is charged on any overdue taxes at the
same rate applicable to overdue local property
taxes.

MUNICIPAL OPTION TO PURCHASE

The city or town has an option to purchase any
classified land whenever the owner plans to sell
or convert it to a residential, commercial or
industrial use. The owner must notify by certified
mail the mayor and city council or the selectmen,

assessors, planning board and conservation
commission of the city or town of any intention
to sell or convert the land to those uses. If the
owner plans to sell the land, the city or town has
the right to match a bona fide offer to purchase it.
If the owner plans to convert it, the city or town
has the right to purchase it at its fair market
value, which is determined by an impartial
appraisal.
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The city or town may also assign its option to a
non-profit, conservation organization. The owner
cannot sell or convert the land until at least 120
days after the mailing of the required notices or
until the owner has been notified in writing that
the option will not be exercised, whichever is
earlier.

This option is not available to the city or town
and the notice requirement does not apply if the
agricultural or horticultural use is simply
discontinued, or if the owner plans to build a
residence for his or her use, or the use of his or
her parent, grandparent, child, grandchild,
brother or sister, the surviving spouse of any of
those relatives, or an employee working full time

in the agricultural or horticultural use of the land.

PENALTY TAX

The owner must pay one of two alternative
penalty taxes whenever any of the land is no
longer “actively devoted” to agricultural or
horticultural purposes, whether or not that land
is subject to the purchase option and notice
requirement.

The owner must pay a roll-back tax for a 5 year
period if the use of the land changes to a non-

qualifying use. If the change in use occurs when
the land is classified, the tax is imposed for the
current fiscal year and the 4 prior years. If the
land is not classified at that time, the tax is
imposed for the 5 prior years. In either case, the
roll-back tax is the difference between the
amount the owner would have paid in annual
property taxes on the land if it had been taxed at
its fair market value and the amount of the taxes
he or she paid on the land under Chapter 61A
during the same time.

However, the owner must pay the alternative
conveyance tax instead if the land is sold for a
non-qualifying use within 10 years of the date the
owner acquired it, or the earliest date of its
uninterrupted use
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by that owner for agricultural or horticultural
purposes, whichever is earlier, or is converted to
a non-qualifying use within 10 years of the date
the owner acquired it, and the conveyance tax is
greater than the roll-back tax that would be due.
The conveyance tax is based on the conveyance
tax rate applied to the sales price of the land, or if
converted, to the fair market value of the land as
determined by the assessors. The conveyance tax
rate is 10% if the land is sold or converted within
the first year of ownership, 9% is sold or
converted within the second year, and so on with
the rate declining each year by one percentage
point until it is 1% in the 10th year of ownership.

APPEALS & ABATEMENTS

The owner may contest decisions made by the
assessors to disapprove all or part of an
application for classification by applying for a
modification of the decision. The owner may also

contest the annual property tax or any penalty
tax assessed under Chapter 61A by applying for
an abatement.

Applications to modify a decision or abate a tax
must be made in writing and must be filed with
the assessors within 60 days of the date the
owner is notified of the decision or tax. If the
owner disagrees with the assessors” decision, or
the assessors do not act on the application, the
owner may appeal to the Appellate Tax Board
within 30 days of the date the owner was notified
of the assessors’ decision, or 3 months from the
date the application was filed, whichever is later.
If the appeal concerns an annual property tax, it
must be paid for the owner to maintain the
appeal. The assessors cannot modify any decision
or grant any abatement if the owner does not
comply with all application deadlines and
procedures.
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FOR FURTHER INFORMATION,
CONTACT YOUR LOCAL BOARD OF
ASSESSORS, OR CONTACT:

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIVISION OF LOCAL SERVICES

PROPERTY TAX BUREAU
Phone:  (617) 626-2300
Fax: (617) 626-2330

Web site: http;//www.dls.state.ma.us
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TAXPAYER’S GUIDE TO
CLASSIFICATION AND TAXATION
IN MASSACHUSETTS

CHAPTER 61A

AGRICULTURAL OR
HORTICULTURAL LAND

Massachusetts Department of Revenue
Division of Local Services
Property Tax Bureau
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